

## Know what's **below. Call** before you dig.

As part of the 2011 Georgia 811 Annual Meeting and the 2011 Fall GUCC/GUCA Conference many outstanding individuals were recognized for their damage prevention efforts and for their dedication in keeping Georgia safe and connected.

## Also, photos from the event may be found online either on Picasa or Facebook: Georgia 811 Annual Meeting Photos:

- Log into Facebook and look for GA811 or go to <a href="http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150321272113595.338620.234332113594&type=1">http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150321272113595.338620.234332113594&type=1</a>
- Photos on Picasa
- https://picasaweb.google.com/107951126715541931417/2011GA811DamagePreventionAdvocateAwardsAndAnnualMeeting#

#### **GUCA/GUCC Fall Meeting Photos:**

Photos on Picasa

https://picasaweb.google.com/114736471548819731012/2011GUCCFallConference?authuser=0&authkey=Gv1sRgCLj405qBusyRrgE&feat=directlink#

## 2011 Georgia 811 Damage Prevention Advocate Awards

Annually Georgia 811 Liaison Managers recognize the efforts of individuals across Georgia who are setting the pace in terms of damage prevention, education and safety. Winners are selected based on DOT Region.

#### Region 1 – Nominated by Becky Creech

Bruce Davis, Town of Braselton, Code Enforcement Officer, Braselton

#### Region 2 - Nominated by Mike Joyner

Edie Holmes, City of Dublin, Admin. Assistant to City Utility Director, Dublin

#### • Region 3 - Nominated by Terry McLaurin

Connie Moore, Georgia Power , GIS Data Technician, Newnan

## • Region 4 - Nominated by Holly Files

Tom Tillman, Community Network Services, Broadband Engineering Technician, Thomasville

#### • Region 6 - Nominated by Terry McLaurin

Emory Deboard, Ellijay-Gilmer County Water and Sewerage Authority, Executive Director, Ellijay

#### • Region 7 - Nominated by Fiona Bowen

Jackie Temples, AGL, Permit Coordinator, Atlanta

#### • Large Projects/Statewide – Nominated by Mike Bell

Dewayne Begley, STS, Supervisor/Large Projects/NE Georgia, Doraville, GA

## Big Damage Prevention Award – Nominated by Claudette Campbell, President & CEO of GA811

Savannah UCC

## **2011 Georgia Public Service Commission Awards**

Each fall the Georgia Public Service Commission's Pipeline Safety Office presents an Award of Excellence to individuals who set the example in their support of damage prevention. This year's winners were:

- Andy Cain, Sawnee EMC
- Bonnie Hatton, HBTC
- Keith Plemons, SEC

## **2011 Fall GUCC Awards**

Golden Backhoe Winners, one per region, are selected based on several safe digging criteria. Including the number of locate requests completed by the crew, total number of at-fault damages, if any; number of times attending a Local Utility Coordinating Council Meeting. Additional points are awarded for crew and/or supervisor participation in a Georgia Public Service Commission approved GUFPA training class and/or a Georgia 811 Dig Safely Class. Those submitting for this honor are

WEB SITE http://www.Georgia811.com



# Know what's **below. Call** before you dig.

also encouraged to compose a written essay describing how their crew has been "spreading the message of damage prevention."

The Lester E. Feathers Damage Prevention Award, the overall points winner, is presented to one of the seven.

## **Golden Backhoe Regional Winners:**

- Region 1 City of Winder-Gas
- Region2- Walton EMC Underground Crew
- Region 3- Georgia Power-Newnan Line Construction
- Region 4 Thomasville Utilities-Water Department
- Region 5 None Submitted
- Region 6 Ringgold Telephone Company-RTC Construction

Georgia 811

Duluth, GA 30096

3400 Summit Ridge Pkwy

• Region 7- Cobb EMC-Jody Newton Service Crew

## Lester Feathers' Award - Walton EMC

## 2011 GUCC Chair. Vice Chair and Secretary of the Year Awards

REGION 1		
Jackson Co.	Bruce Davis, Town of Braselton	Chairperson
Walton Co.	James Childs, Walton EMC	Vice Chairperson
Forsyth Co.	Robin McCook, Forsyth Co.	Secretary
REGION 2		
Augusta-Richmond, Colur	mbia Hope Marshall, Columbia Co. Chair	rperson
Newton Co.	Del Summer, Newton Co. Water & Sewer	Vice Chairperson
Laurens Co	Edie Holmes, City of Dublin	Secretary
REGION 3		
Coweta-Fayette	Dana McCauley, City of Newnan	Chairperson
Henry Co.	Jason McGriff, Benton GA, Inc.	Vice Chairperson*
Coweta-Fayette	Al McGee, AT&T	Vice Chairperson*
Muscogee Co.	Pam Collins, Benton GA, Inc.	Secretary
REGION 4		
Thomas Co.	Tom Tillman, City of Thomasville-Tech Service	ces Chairperson
Decatur Co	Jamie Salter, Grady EMC	Vice Chairperson
Decatur Co	Carol Shealy, City of Bainbridge	Secretary
REGION 5		
Savannah	Frank Banks, City of Savannah	Chairperson
Savannah	Michael Blakely, Chatham Co.	Vice Chairperson
Savannah	Nancy Brisendine, Georgia Power	Secretary
REGION 6		
Cherokee Co.	Carroll Millsaps, Georgia Power	Chairperson
Carroll & Haralson Co.	Charles McKinley, Greystone Power Vice	Chairperson
Cherokee Co.	Carolyn Knott, Comcast	Secretary
REGION 7		
North Fulton	Keith Hadid, Georgia Power	Chairperson
Cobb DOT	Andy Rikard, Cobb DOT	Vice Chair
Fulton Co.	Mark Monroe, Georgia Power	Secretary *indicates a tie
	Utilities Protection Center, Inc d/b/a PHONE	(770) 476-6048

CELL

(770) 856-4975

WEB SITE http://www.Georgia811.com

E-MAIL mchestnutt@gaupc.com